The Moscow Expat Forums

Go Back   The Moscow Expat Forums > Moving to and living in Russia > TRAVEL, VISAS, REGISTRATION, RESIDENCY-STATUS & MORE > Temporary & Permanent Residency

Temporary & Permanent Residency Looking for a Russian "Green Card"? Got one already and have some advice for others?

Post New Thread Closed Thread

Old 05-08-2009, 15:38

Dual US-Russian Citizenship

I've been working in Russia (as a teacher) for 2 years now going on 3, with a work visa (no TRP or PRP). Not married to a Russian.

1) Is it possible for an American to get dual US-Russian citizenship? If so, what are the requirements on each side? Could I still live year-round in Russia or would I have to spend time in the US?

2) So I've worked here 2 years on a work visa. Can I apply straight for a PRP or do I have to start with a TRP? Will the years I've already lived and worked here count? towards citizenship waiting time?

3) After that, what are the steps to gain Russian citizenship? Can it be dual?

4) What happens if it cannot be dual and you actually have to renounce your US citizenship and they don't refuse? If you want to travel to the US again, such as to visit relatives, will you need a visa? will need to be fingerprinted?? What's the best way to turn in the letter of renunciation but still get them to refuse it? (so you can keep your US citizenship)?
Thanks.
Old 05-08-2009, 22:25
,,,,,,,and Sun God!!!

Originally Posted by SPBCafe View Post
I've been working in Russia (as a teacher) for 2 years now going on 3, with a work visa (no TRP or PRP). Not married to a Russian.

1) Is it possible for an American to get dual US-Russian citizenship? If so, what are the requirements on each side? Could I still live year-round in Russia or would I have to spend time in the US?

2) So I've worked here 2 years on a work visa. Can I apply straight for a PRP or do I have to start with a TRP? Will the years I've already lived and worked here count? towards citizenship waiting time?